Preparing for an Interview

I have decided to start looking for employment and have been busily applying for jobs. The thought is scary but I know Molly will be in safe hands with my Mum and Stepdad. I am currently looking for a part-time position so that I still have lots of time with Molly. A couple of months ago I was actually offered a position but as it was full-time hours I had to decline the offer. On reflection of the position I knew that working full-time would make me unhappy as I would feel like I would hardly see Molly, especially as she spends a day with her dad at the weekend, so that would meant there would only be one day for me to spend with her and that just wasn’t enough.

I am excited to go back to work but I am also completely terrified! My days with Molly are relaxed and we have the freedom to do whatever we want, but I know in reality that this cannot carry on forever (although it would be nice!). I am worried she will miss me and get upset, as she is very much a mummies-girl, although once she is at my mum’s I know she will be fine and probably not even realise I am not there. I will probably be thinking of her much more than she will be thinking of me!

I want to go back to work to have some adult time and not just spend my days talking to other parents about nappies,  baby food and other such related topics. I obviously love to talk about Molly but I am really looking forward to some adult conversation instead of me making baby noises back at Molly. I also think it is a good example to set to her. I had her whilst I was still at University and even though she is still a baby, it is time to return to work. By this, I want to show her that even if you are in a difficult position you can do whatever you put your mind to and the importance of working hard to look after your family. I am very lucky to have such a great support network to enable me to start pursuing my career.

So this week I went on an interview for a job which I really want! Interviews always make me nervous so I have to really prepare for them. This is what I did:

photo-268

– Look smart – No boobs on display or short skirts! First impressions are very important at an interview so you want to look professional. I always try and be conscious about how much skin I am showing and try not to wear too much make up either. Being an employee means you are representing the face of the company so give off a good image from the start.

– Be on time – Sounds obvious but it’s surprising how many factors can crop up and make you late when you were least expecting it. Think traffic, route, car-park change, finding the building and then I always add on an extra ten minutes just in case! If you are late and your interviewer has to wait for you, it instantly sets the impression that you have poor time management skills and are not reliable.

– Do your research – It’s more than likely that they will ask you to tell them about the company. I have previously been asked “Tell me three things you have learnt through your research of our company”. You want to show you are very interested in the company so reeling some facts off easily without too much thought will really show you have throughly done your research and are excited about the company.

– Know your role – Research what it is exactly that you will be doing so you can link these key words into talks of past employment so you set the impression that you would be well prepared for the role.

– Tell stories – Remember examples, stories and situations you have been in which show how well you handled/dealt/improved/lead something so when they ask you “Tell me about a time when you were….” You have your answer all ready and don’t waste time thinking or something to say. With nerves at risk, it is hard to think on the spot, even if the question is all about you!

– Take examples – If you have work, certificates or reports which back up your statements then take them along for the interviewer to look through as proof to what you are saying.

– Remember your manners – Hold doors open, be courteous, say please and thank you, shake hands. All obvious points but being extra wary can only make you look more polite. Nobody likes rude staff!

– Ask questions – Going in with a list of questions prepared shows your interested in the role and have put a lot of thought into it. I try and think of about ten, as chances are they will answer some as they explain the job anyway. It always looks better to ask questions than to not.

What is your best interview advice?

Follow on Bloglovin

