You Would Have Been 66

Monday 21st April 2014 was my Dad’s birthday. He would have been 66. His 63rd birthday marked one of the last times I ever saw him. I remember the day well, going home and sitting in the front room, not knowing we wouldn’t get the chance to ever celebrate all together again.

Me and my sister still like to mark the occasion though. The three of us used to go to Frankie and Benny’s the restaurant so this year was no different. Except it was just two of us now and Molly. My, my younger sister and Molly went out to dinner, just as we would have if Dad was here. It feels really nice to still try and make the day special and do something we don’t normally have time for.

After dinner we came back to my Mum’s house and we each had a balloon for my Dad. It was an idea I came up with a few weeks ago. We bought ‘Happy Birthday’ balloons and added messages to Dad on them.

photo-285

Once we had written our words, we went outside and let them go, up towards heaven.

photo-286

Dad we will always remember you, and your birthday will always be special and important, just like you.

This year I cannot run the Race For Life for my Dad as they are not holding it in my local area. So instead I have decided to hold a ‘Cake and Coffee’ morning.

Screen Shot 2014-04-04 at 08.41.57

I am trying to raise as much as I can for Cancer Research UK. I have a JustGiving page where people can donate or it would be wonderful if people came on the day, ate cake and drank coffee/tea which has all been kindly donated and all the money will be directly donated to Cancer Research UK. If anybody would be interested in donating prizes for the raffle or donating money online then please do so or get in touch with me. Anything you can give would be so greatly appreciated.

Loosing somebody to Cancer is something nearly all of us have been through, and together we can beat it to eensure nobody else has to feel our pain.

Follow on Bloglovin

